How This Project Serves And Protects

The Susquehanna River is one of the most flood prone waterways in the United States. Locally, since 1865 the river has exceeded the natural flood stage of 22 feet, seventy-seven (77) times or about once every 2 years. Consequently, the existing flood protection system is one of the largest systems in the nation. The USACE estimates that, since 1968, over $7.5 million in flood damages, widespread resident evacuations, injuries and deaths have been prevented due to the operation of the WVFRMP. The Federal government continues to oversee the continued integrity and reliability of this project as a part of its national flood protection system inventory.

The Authority

The System Consists Of...

Flood protection in the Wyoming Valley started as a response to the Susquehanna River flooding of March 1936. Today, the existing flood protection system contains 16 miles of levee and floodwall, 13 pump stations that contain 39 deep well centrifugal pumps, 78 drainage structures, 20 road and railroad closure structures, 123 relief wells and an electrical distribution system that consists of 8 substations, 27 transformers and 9 miles of underground and aerial transmission lines. The system also contains the Toby Creek Impoundment Basin, a 1.2-mile-long Toby Creek underground pressure conduit and an earthen dam.

The Authority Was Created

The Luzerne County Flood Protection Authority (LCFPA) was created in 1996 as an element of the $200 million Wyoming Valley Levee Raising Project. Under an executed Project Cooperation Agreement (PCA) between the United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) and the LCFPA, the Authority is responsible for the maintenance, operation and repair of the Wyoming Valley Flood Risk Management Project (WVFRMP). It is the mission of the Authority to protect the Wyoming Valley from loss of lives, property and infrastructure due to emergency high water events along the Susquehanna River in Northeast Pennsylvania. The 16-mile long project helps protect the communities of Edwardsville Borough, Exeter Borough, Forty Fort Borough, Hanover Township, Municipality of Kingston, Luzerne Borough, Plymouth Borough, Pringle Borough, Swoyersville Borough, West Wyoming Borough, Wyoming Borough and the City of Wilkes-Barre.